New Releases

International Trade Working Paper 2024/02

Exploring the Renewable Energy Landscape in Least Developed Countries: Generation, Trade and Endowments

Kyle de Klerk, Neil Balchin, Collin Zhuawu
5 July 2024
International Trade Working Paper 2024/03

Challenges and Opportunities for Renewable Energy Technology Transfer in Least Developed Countries

Collin Zhuawu, Neil Balchin, Kyle de Klerk
5 July 2024

Commonwealth Countries: Driving FinTech Innovation

Commonwealth Secretariat
5 October 2022


The Commonwealth is one of the world’s oldest political association of states. Membership today is based on free and equal voluntary co-operation, and currently comprises 56 independent countries

The Commonwealth includes some of the world’s largest, smallest, richest and poorest countries, spanning five regions. Thirty-two of its members are small states, many of them island nations. It is home to 2.5 billion citizens, more than 60 per cent of whom are under the age of 30. Member countries have no legal obligation one to another. Instead, they are united by language, history, culture, and their shared values of democracy, human rights, and the rule of law. The Commonwealth’s guiding principles are set out in its Charter.

The Commonwealth is involved in diverse activities, from helping countries with trade negotiations to encouraging women’s leadership, building the small business sector, supporting youth participation at all levels of society, and providing experts to write laws. Find more information about The Commonwealth on our main website,