Acknowledgements

I wish to acknowledge first and foremost the following ambassadors, who were elected as Chairpersons of the Group, for the support and confidence they placed in me, for their willingness to meet with me at short notice to review the project work, despite their heavy work schedules, and for their invaluable comments and feedback: Ambassador P Sinzinza (Zambia), Ambassador D Baichoo (Mauritius), Ambassador Ransford Smith (Jamaica), Ambassador Hanido Ali (Malaysia), Ambassador Nathan Irumba (Uganda), Ambassador K J Weeransinghe (Sri Lanka), Ambassador Trevor Clarke (Barbados), Ambassador Charles T Ntwaagae (Botswana), Ambassador Gomi T Senadhira (Sri Lanka), Ambassador Dennis Francis (Trinidad and Tobago) and Ambassador Arsene Balihuta (Uganda).

It was possible to ensure the high quality of the project publications and of the background papers only because of the remarkable level of interest and hard work of the project's research associates, Ms Caroline Lo Moro, Ms Isabella Kataric, Mr Yuvan Beejadhur and Mr Suddha Chakravartti.

I would particularly like to thank Mr Suddha Chakravartti for the help and support he provided in the preparation of this book.

One of the features of the work under the project was the remarkable level of cooperation that I received from officials from the Missions in the preparation of the background papers, as well as their strong interest in the work of the Group. The list of officials who co-operated on an individual basis in the preparation of the papers is indeed too long to be included here but I would like to mention a few of those who collaborated actively in the last few years: Mr Nelson Ndirangu and Ms Anne Kamau (Kenya), Mr Elly Kafeero (Uganda), Ms Simone Rudder (Barbados) and Mr Siva Palyanathan (Mauritius).

The keen interest and support provided by Mr Ransford Smith, Deputy Secretary General, Mr José Maurel, Director, Special Advisory Services Division (SASD) and Mr Nikhil Treebhoohun, Adviser and Head of the Trade Section in SASD, facilitated greatly the smooth functioning of the project during its last few years. I would like to thank Mr Treebhoohun in particular for carefully going through the draft of this handbook and for his constructive and valuable suggestions.

I would also like to pay tribute to those who were responsible for the management of the project in the earlier years: Mr Winston Cox, Deputy Secretary General; Mr R Gold, Director, SASD; Mr Rumman Faruqi, Director, and Mr Indrajit Coomaraswamy, Director, Economic Affairs Division; and Mr George Saibel, Director, Mr Anant Vijay,

Deputy Director, Mr Pierre Berthelot, Deputy Director, and Ms Angela Strachen, Chief Programme Officer, of SASD.

My thanks to Mr E Gannon and his colleagues, who worked so efficiently on the administrative and financial aspects of the project.

I would also like to thank Mr R Badrinath, Director, and Mr Shyam Gujadhur, Senior Adviser, from the International Trade Centre (ITC) for the co-operation they extended to me in the work that was done under the joint Commonwealth/ITC projects.

My sincere thanks go to Ambassador Marwa Kisiri, who heads the ACP Geneva Office, and Ms Esparanza Duran, Executive Director of the Agency for International Trade Information and Cooperation (AITIC), for their co-operation in arranging a number of joint seminars and workshops. I also acknowledge the co-operation extended by Mr Martin Khor, who was then Executive Director of the Third World Network, and the support of Mr Yash Tandon, Secretary General of the South Centre and other officials from the Centre for their keen interest in the work being done under the project and for their support.

Grateful thanks to Ms Moira Redecker and her colleagues from the conference division of the WTO Secretariat, who went out of their way to ensure that meeting rooms required by the Group were made available. I am grateful to my past colleagues from the WTO Secretariat, especially Mr Alberto Campean, Mr Eric Sorensen, Mr Patrick Low and Ms Janet Chacarian for their promptness in providing me with information and clarifications on technical and legal issues under discussions in WTO. I would also like to thank Ms Meena Mashayakhi, Mr Mohamed Arda and their colleagues at UNCTAD for the co-operation they extended to me.