# Annex 1

# **Composition of the Commonwealth Observer Group**

### Hon Edward Natapei (Vanuatu) - Chair

The Hon Edward Nipake Natapei is currently Deputy Leader of the Opposition and head of the Vanua'aku Pati. He took office for a second term as Prime Minister of Vanuatu in September 2008 following the victory of the Vanua'aku Pati at the 2 September general election and served until 2 December 2010. He was concurrently Minister of Public Service.

Mr Natapei had earlier been Prime Minister from 2001 to 2004. He served as Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Public Utilities from 2007 to August 2008 during the Ham Lini administration. From 2005 to 2007, Mr Natapei was Minister for Infrastructure and Public Utilities. He was Leader of the Opposition from 1999 to 2000 after being elected Leader of Vanua'aku Pati in 1999. Mr Natapei was Acting President for a brief period from 2 to 24 March 1999. He was Speaker of Parliament from 1996 to 1999, and was briefly Minister of Foreign Affairs in 1991. Mr Natapei served as Minister of Health from 1987 to 1991 under the Walter Lini administration.

Mr Natapei was first elected to Parliament in 1983. Prior to that, he was First Secretary, Ministry of Finance, Commerce, Industry and Tourism in 1982. Mr Natapei is a graduate of the Fiji Institute of Technology, Suva, Fiji Islands.

#### Ms Kathryn Omwandho (Kenya)

Kathryn Omwandho is a journalist with KTN (Kenya Television Network). Her main focus is feature reporting on issues of governance, conflict and politics. She is a graduate of the University of Nairobi with a degree in Journalism and Media Studies and is currently studying for her Masters degree in International Conflict Management.

#### Ms Sarah Fradgley (New Zealand)

Sarah Fradgley is a media and communications consultant working with international organisations, including the UN and EU. She has extensive experience of media relations, public information campaigns and grassroots communications on a wide range of political, electoral, security and development issues. Ms Fradgley has considerable experience in the field of elections, and has worked as an election observer in 20 countries, including Indonesia, Bangladesh, Lebanon, Zambia, as well as in many countries in the Balkans and in the former Soviet Union. She also worked as spokesperson for the Iraq Out-of-Country Voting Programme in the UK. Previously, she worked in Kosovo as spokesperson for the European Agency for Reconstruction and as press officer for the United Nations. She began her career as a journalist at the BBC, where she spent six years as a producer on TV and radio news programmes, and as the BBC's Berlin bureau producer covering stories in central and eastern Europe.

### Mr Daryl Mapu (Samoa)

Mr Mapu is currently employed as a Senior Registration Officer by the Office of the Electoral Commissioner. He has wide experience in elections around the Pacific and other parts of the world such as Bangladesh. This is his second involvement with the Commonwealth Secretariat. He has a Bachelor of Commerce degree majoring in accounting and computing.

## **Ms Emmanuella Kauhue (Solomon Islands)**

Ms Kauhue is the Community Participation Advisor with the Regional Assistance Mission to Solomon Islands (RAMSI) Infrastructure Partnership, and a Member of the Solomon Islands Law Reform Commission.

### **Ambassador Mohamed Mohideen Amanul Farouque (Sri Lanka)**

Amanul Farouque, a former career Foreign Service Officer of Sri Lanka was his country's Ambassador to Oman, Yemen, Iraq, Lebanon and Syria. From 1975 he served in different capacities in the Foreign Ministry in Colombo and Sri Lankan Missions abroad, including in the Permanent Missions of Sri Lanka to the UN in New York and Geneva. During his career he was appointed Consul for Sri Lanka in New York, Acting High Commissioner in Pretoria, and Director—General (Political Affairs) in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. He has briefly served as Presiding Officer and Assistant Returning Officer during the General and Provincial Elections in Sri Lanka. Following his retirement in 2008 he was attached to the Ministry of Resettlement and Disaster Relief as the Additional National Project Coordinator and currently lectures part-time in the Bandaranaike International Diplomatic Training Institute in Colombo.

## Mr Joseph N Biribonwa (Uganda)

Mr. Joseph N. Biribonwa holds a Bachelor of Commerce with Hons. Degree from the University of Nairobi. He has over 35 years of experience in Commercial Management of Public Enterprises (Export and Import Corporation, State Trading Corporation, Uganda Hardwares Ltd, Uganda Pharmaceuticals Ltd, Uganda Electricity Board and Electoral Commission). He was a Commissioner, Electoral Commission from 2002 to November 2009. He has previously served on several Institutional Boards e.g. African Furnishing House, Makerere University Council, Uganda Aids Commission, etc. and currently is Chairman, Crane Bank and is also Chairman Munyoyo Commonwealth Resort Ltd. He has undergone local and overseas specialised training for Chief Executives, Procurement, Public Utility Management, Election Administration etc, including Executive Attachment at Manitoba Hydro, Canada. He has been a regular International Elections Observer to several African Nations. He is a retired Speaker of Bunyoro Kingdom, and a member/past President of the Rotary Club of Kololo. He is in charge of Central North Region.

### **Mr Henry Hogger (United Kingdom)**

Henry Hogger is a former British diplomat who spent most of his career in the Arab world, finishing as Ambassador in Syria and then Governorate Coordinator for Basra in post-war Iraq. Since retiring from the foreign service in 2004 he has undertaken election observation missions for the European Union in several African and Latin American countries; and for the Commonwealth in Zambia (2006) and the Autonomous Region of Bougainville (2010). He is

Chairman of the Council for British Research in the Levant (a UK government-funded body supporting archaeology and social science in the Near East) and a Senior Consultant with Middle East Consultants (MEC) International Ltd.

#### **Commonwealth Secretariat Staff Team**

Ms Shennia Spillane, Adviser & Head, Caribbean & Pacific Section, Political Affairs Division Mr Manoah Esipisu, Deputy Director, Communications & Public Affairs Division (17/6–7/7)

Ms Geraldine Goh, Adviser, Communications & Public Affairs Division (8/7–17/7)

Ms Treva Braun, Human Rights Adviser, Human Rights Unit

Ms Laura Southerland, Programme Officer, Governance & Institutional Development Division

Mr Jonathan Hawkes, Logistics and Administration, Political Affairs Division

Ms Claudia Russo, Logistics and Administration, Political Affairs Division