Enlargement of the EEC

The negotiations between Britain and the EEC on the terms of accession were completed in mid-1971, and on 1 January 1973 Britain, along with Denmark and the Irish Republic, acceded to the EEC. For the most part the new members accepted the pre-existing rules of the Community, and a five-year transitional period was established. At the end of this period both tariff and non-tariff barriers on industrial products traded between the old and new member states will have been abolished completely, and the new member states will have aligned their tariff schedules with the Common Customs Tariff (CCT) of the EEC.


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error