Gender Equality

A Decade of Commonwealth Action

image of Gender Equality

This reference book for Gender Ministers provides a snapshot account of the Commonwealth's achievements in promoting gender equality and records the advances made by women from 1995-2005. The publication highlights the work of 53 member countries and partner organisations across the Commonwealth. The country profiles and regional reports will enable policy-makers, development practitioners and partner organisations to build on achievements and learn from the challenges encountered. The publication also identifies emerging issues that need to be addressed by the Commonwealth in the decade ahead.



Introduction: A Decade of Commonwealth Action

The 16-point Harare Declaration of principles, agreed by Commonwealth Heads of Government at their summit in 1991, has become the standard by which social, economic and governance progress is judged in the Commonwealth's 53 member countries (see Annex I). The fourth of these points was the affirmation of equality for women' so they may exercise their full and equal rights.’


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error