Uganda Presidential and Parliamentary Elections, 18 February 2011

image of Uganda Presidential and Parliamentary Elections, 18 February 2011

The Report of the Commonwealth Observer Group for the Uganda Parliamentary and Presidential elections. The Group was led by Dame Billie Miller, former Deputy Prime Minister and former Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade of Barbados, and comprised thirteen eminent persons in total.



Political Background

Uganda attained self-government in 1958. In 1961 a general election returned the Democratic Party of Benedicto Kiwanuka, who became the first Prime Minister in 1962. The general election of April 1962 returned Milton Obote’s Uganda People’s Congress. Uganda became independent on 9 October 1962 under a Constitution that safeguarded the autonomy of Buganda and the other kingdoms, and joined the Commonwealth. An alliance between the Uganda People’s Congress (UPC) and Kabaka Yekka (KY) parties won the majority of parliamentary seats and Milton Obote became the executive Prime Minister. Through the UPC-KY coalition, Kabaka Edward Mutesa II became the first ceremonial President in 1963, when Uganda became a republic.


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error