The General Election in Papua New Guinea

image of The General Election in Papua New Guinea

These Election Reports are the observations, conclusions and recommendations of Commonwealth Observer Groups. The SecretaryGeneral constitutes these observer missions at the request of governments and with the agreement of all significant political parties. At the end of a mission, a report is submitted to the SecretaryGeneral, who makes it available to the government of the country in question, the political parties concerned and to all Commonwealth governments. The report eventually becomes a public document.



The Legal Framework

The Independent State of Papua New Guinea is a unitary state. The Constitution provides for the establishment of a National Capital District which is the seat of government, and authorises the establishment of other Provinces under an Organic Law made by Parliament. Currently the country consists of 20 Provinces.


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error