Small States

Economic Review and Basic Statistics, Volume 19

image of Small States

This unique annual collection of key economic and statistical data on states with fewer than five million inhabitants is an essential reference for economists, planners and policy-makers working on issues of concern to small states. This volume contains 17 tables covering development indicators and an article focusing on climate change impacts, adaptation and policies for agriculture in African small states.



Regional Analyses

The six African Commonwealth small states consist of four mainland southern African states and two island states in the Indian Ocean. Of the mainland states, Botswana and Namibia have large land areas with low population densities, while Lesotho and Swaziland are smaller with considerably higher population densities. Lesotho is an enclave state sitting at relatively high altitude and entirely surrounded by South Africa. Mauritius and Seychelles are both small island developing states (SIDS) with very large exclusive economic zones. As members of the Southern African Customs Union (SACU), the mainland states share a close economic relationship with a South African economy that has endured several years of sluggish growth. Mauritius and Seychelles are less closely tied to the South African economy, but their large tourist sectors expose them to shifting global demand for tourism. Although each state has challenges linked to its own individual circumstances, they share many of the characteristic challenges faced by small states.


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error