Renewable Energy Development in Africa

Proceedings of the African Energy Programme Conference, 25–29 March 1985, Mauritius, Volume 1

image of Renewable Energy Development in Africa



CRES - The Regional Tool of West African Nations to Promote the Use of Renewable Energy

Hit by a two-fold energy crisis - rising costs of importing oil and deforestation - the heads of the states of the CEAO (Communaute Economique de l'Afrique de l'Ouest) countries decided in 1978 to create the Centre Regional d'Energie Solaire (CRES). The member states of CILSS (Comite Permanent Inter-Etats de Lutte Contre la Sedreresse dans le Sahel) countries joined them later, and the following countries are now members of CRES: Burkina Fasso; Benin; Cape Verde Islands; Chad; Gambia; Ivory Coast; Mali; Mauritania; Niger; and Senegal.


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error