A Handbook on Regional Integration in Africa

A Handbook on Regional Integration in Africa

Towards Agenda 2063 You do not have access to this content

Click to Access: 
  • PDF
  • http://www.keepeek.com/Digital-Asset-Management/oecd/commonwealth/economics/a-handbook-on-regional-integration-in-africa_9781848599611-en
  • READ
Brendan Vickers
16 Mar 2017
9781848599611 (PDF)
loader image

Expand / Collapse Hide / Show all Abstracts Table of Contents

  • Mark Click to Access
  • Foreword

    The Commonwealth countries of Sub-Saharan Africa constitute the largest geographical grouping within our membership. They include middle income developing countries, landlocked and island small states, and least-developed countries, bringing a remarkably diverse array of perspectives, experience and approaches to our collective endeavours. Notwithstanding continuing development challenges, Africa is widely regarded as a rising continent, rich in people, resources and opportunities. To unlock even more of the vast economic potential of this great continent, governments in Africa are working together to implement ambitious plans for continental integration, industrialisation and infrastructure development.

  • Acknowledgments
  • Abbreviations and acronyms
  • The Political Economy of Regional Integration in Africa

    Regional integration is a multidimensional process by which neighbouring countries within a demarcated geographical space increase their level of interaction with regard to economic, security, political, or social and cultural issues. In Africa, the 55 African Union (AU) member states are divided into five regions i.e. Central, East, North, Southern and West Africa. Regional integration involves the joining of individual states within these regions into a larger unit or bloc. The degree of integration depends upon the willingness and commitment of independent and autonomous states to cede or share their sovereignty.

  • Formal Frameworks and Policies for African Economic Integration

    The Lagos Plan of Action (LPA) for the Economic Development of Africa (19802000) and the Final Act of Lagos was the first major pan-continental initiative, backed by the OAU, to develop a regional strategy for African development. The LPA was based on an inward-looking, self-reliant and selfsustaining development approach, which sought to utilise fully Africas abundant resources. It outlined short-, medium- and long-term actions and targets covering a broad range of issues related to the continents socioeconomic development, including food and agriculture; industry; natural resources; human resource development and utilisation; science and technology; transport and communications; trade and finance; economic and technical co-operation; the environment; LDCs; energy; women and development; and development planning, statistics and population.

  • The Tripartite and Continental Free Trade Areas

    The Tripartite Initiative is a framework for inter-regional co-operation, co-ordination and integration among three regional economic communities (RECs): COMESA, EAC and SADC. Launched in 2008, the initiative is overseen at the highest political level through Summits of Heads of State and Government of the three participating RECs.

  • Way Forward: The Road to 2063

    Agenda 2063 anchors and advances the pan-African vision of a united, peaceful and prosperous continent. Strengthening African integration is indispensable for enhancing political co-operation at the pan-continental level, and for promoting economic growth, development and poverty reduction to help achieve many of the Sustainable Development Goals.

  • Add to Marked List